Scribbling

Over the last few weeks I have been doing some writing for my favourite company in the world, The Very Vintage Hire Company.  I’ve really enjoyed it, and it’s left me inspired to do the writing things from my list.  So for Valentines Day I wrote Steve a little poem in his card.

I wonder

if you thought

a big present

might come your way

this Valentine’s Day?

I’m sorry.

This is it,

I’m afraid.

It’s not that I don’t love you

or think that you deserve it.

I do.

I think you’re wonderful

But it’s a lazy girl you married

so

I’m sorry.

This is it,

I’m afraid.

Write a poem for Steve

Steve proposed to me by getting one of my favourite songs (Oregon Girl by Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin) personalised and recorded. Granted, most of the work was done by the band, but I think Steve deserves for me to reciprocate the effort with a love poem. I don’t have much any faith in my ability to do this well, but we’ll see how it goes!

It’s not exactly a soppy, beautifully written sonnet, but he’d hate that anyway!

2 thoughts on “Scribbling

Leave a Reply

