My Fancy Run

So yesterday was the big day of my 10k race. I was super nervous in my ridiculous nemo outfit – exactly zero other people were in fancy dress for the race and everyone seemed to be taking it very seriously! It really made me appreciate just how hard Eve’s challenge to wear nothing but fancy dress for year has been.  (www.myfancyyear.com) Despite my plan to take it fairly easy for the first 5k and ramp it up for the second, I made the predictable rookie mistake of doing my fastest km to date in the first km. Then my shoelace came undone (I am unbelievably bad at tying laces and really hope Steve takes on the job of teaching this skill to the boys!) which was probably a blessing in disguise as it got me out of the too fast crowd! But I was absolutely convinced that I was at the back of the race which was a bit disheartening. Later on, Steve told me that when he saw me at the back he also thought I was right at the back, but of course there were loads of people behind me really.

Anyway, I think I finished in about 1 hour 2 minutes, but the official times should come out tomorrow. I’m sure I didn’t reach my target of under an hour, but that’s ok – it was much hotter than any weather I have run in before.

But that wasn’t the end of my efforts for the day! On Saturday night, whilst doing their 21st 10k in as many days, Eve (of My Fancy Year) and her husband got into a scuffle with some teenagers, resulting in Eve’s husband being bottled and having to be stitched up! Determined not to let this put a downer on all their hard work, they invited all of Teignmouth to join them for last night’s 10k. There was an incredible turnout of people in fancy dress and they raised around £650 on the night. I ran 7.3k, half of which with Oscar, who was amazing!

My legs are aching today but I’m really pleased with myself and the sponsor money is starting to flood in – so far I’ve collected £112 but I hope to reach £200.

And now I’ve got an official PB I just want to race again to try and beat it. I think I might be officially hooked!

2 thoughts on “My Fancy Run

Leave a Reply

