Live Below the Line

I had put this challenge to the back of my mind, until Live Below The Line popped up on my Facebook newsfeed a few times over the last couple of days.  It’s a challenge to eat for just £1 a day for five days from 27th April – 1st May, to increase awareness of the reality of living in poverty.

My challenge is to do this for a full week, and I’m not going to sign up for the official challenge (I think people have had enough of me pestering them for sponsorship!).  I’m going to start this Saturday (25th) so that I finish in time for Steve’s birthday on 2nd May, when we are going out for lunch!

I have a pretty big appetite (if I get to 11.30am without snacking I usually start feeling sick with hunger (and I never skip breakfast)) and I do eat a lot of rubbish, but I do like eating healthily and I don’t want to sacrifice a healthy (ish) diet for this challenge.

I’ve just been looking online at what I can get for my £7 from Tesco, and it’s actually surprising how much it can buy you if you don’t mind scrimping a bit…

a bag of penne pasta 30p

an onion 16p

a tin of potatoes 20p

a box of cornflakes 31p

a loaf of bread 40p

and my treats…

a tin of rice pudding 15p

a packet of ginger nuts 25p

I’m going to enjoy these next few days of eating normally!  Wish me luck!!

2 thoughts on “Live Below the Line

Leave a Reply

