Why vegan?

I’ve been vegetarian my whole life, so I eat fairly healthily but I eat way too much dairy, sugar, and carbs. Recently I’ve started exercising (inspired by the 10k race I ran for this blog), and, with a wedding to go to, it seemed like a good time to try and eat better too. 

For about four of the last six years I’ve been breastfeeding, but not once did I let even a drop of milk past my lips. But if I’m so freaked out by the thought of drinking my own milk, milk that is designed for humans; then how can I be so ok about drinking milk that comes from animals?

That said, at this point I can’t see myself carrying on as vegan long term. After this week I hope I’ll eat more healthily, but I can’t bear the thought of not having a spinach and ricotta canelonni, or a goats cheese tart, or a cheesecake ever again. As a child it was always difficult being vegetarian, friends’ parents didn’t know what to give me “are you sure you don’t want some ham?” and menus never had very good vegetarian choices. Nowadays it’s easy, but vegan food still isn’t so straightforward. I don’t want to have to carry around my own milk and have to request something that’s not on the menu when I go out for dinner.

Why are you vegan?

6 thoughts on “Why vegan?

  1. lillian organics says:

    I’m Vegan for ethical *and* health reasons. I honestly never thought I’d make it without cheese but once you get used to the idea, it’s no big deal. I think it helps that I choose not to eat dairy for ethical reasons. Not to get gory but once I learned what actually happens at dairy farms (and eggs can be looped in here too), it was easy for me to make the switch. As crazy as it may sound, I’m not entirely sure that I’d be able to stick with it if it were only for health reasons. I know I *should* be able to but it’s a lot easier when I’m thinking of someone else. 🙂 Carry on. You *can* do it if you decide it’s right for you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You don’t have to go without cheesecake! There are commercial ready-made options, you can buy vegan cream cheese (expensive) or there are a zillion recipes for from-scratch – I like this one: http://www.magicjelly.com.au/blog/2012/07/vegan-baked-cheesecake/ – because it uses store-cupboard items. I don’t bother making and cooling the cheese mix, I just make it and use it straight away. I don’t even bother doing the saucepan bit, since I have a powerful blender so don’t need to worry about softening the cashews.

    Many places offer dairy-alternative milk now as well. And I find eating out easier all the time. Vegan now is like vegetarian was 20 years ago, and is heading the same way in terms of acceptance and caterers becoming better at providing options.

    As to your question, the simple answer is because I can be 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi, once I made the connection between the animal suffering and the cheese and cream I loved it was easy for me too. Especially as I still eat delicious food every day. Honestly I think the chocolate tofu cheesecake is better than any dairy cheesecake I had. http://mouthwateringvegan.com/2011/12/10/the-best-ever-chocoholics-cheesecake/
    And I don’t even have a decent blender!
    Eating out can be a bit of a pain sometimes but this is a small sacrifice for a clear conscience. You’re doing great. Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

