Writing

I’m so proud of Oscar’s writing at the moment!  At the beginning of this term, if I asked him to write his name in a friend’s birthday card it would have been incredibly hard work, ending up in a big scribble or me writing it!  But in year two they have been learning about DRAGONS and Andy Goldsworthy.  Oscar is inspired!  I can hardly make him stop writing now!  It’s so much easier to help him with homework now that he’s enjoying it, I used to find it so frustrating.  Getting him to read or do anything maths-y is still a challenge, but it will come!

This was him doing his homework recently.  The homework was to draw a found item and look at textures, colours etc.  Instead he chose to write an essay.

12112089_10152702589517614_4934754895556929080_n

I’m no writer, though I do like the idea of it as a career!  In my last couple of jobs I have done quite a lot of bits of writing.  Then in my work with older people I have met so many inspirational people.  One night (I think it was back in March) I couldn’t sleep and an idea for a story came to me.  Then I really couldn’t sleep, because I couldn’t stop thinking about it.  The next day I came down to my computer and wrote, and I was really surprised with how well it turned out.  I entered my story into a couple of competitions, not expecting to get anywhere, but you never know!  I didn’t get through in either competition, but that’s ok!  If you’d like to read it, here you go!

Leave a Reply

